KNOWLEDGE BASE

Unable to Remove Site Membership From User


Published: 08 Feb 2019
Last Modified Date: 30 Nov 2019

Issue

After clicking on the Users tab in the Tableau Server Manage All Sites admin UI, then selecting a user and un-checking this user from a site in the Group Membership dialog (through Actions menu) and clicking Save, it appears that the user has successfully been removed from the site. There are no error messages and the dialog closes. But in reality the user is NOT removed from the site.

Environment

Tableau Server 2019.1

Resolution

This behavior is currently under investigation.

As a temporary workaround, try one of the the following options:

Option 1

Go to the specific site and delete the user from that site. (This is equivalent of un-checking a site in the Group Membership dialog.)

Option 2

Use the REST API to remove the user from the site. 

Cause

This behavior is caused by a Known Issue, ID 872997, that is currently under investigation.

Additional Information

Scope/Impact:

This only affects Server Admins for on-prem customers for Tableau Server.

The operation is successful as far as UI is concerned and there are no errors and the dialog closes.



Discuss this article... Feedback Forum
Did this article resolve the issue?