KNOWLEDGE BASE

Saving "Let users schedule and monitor workflows" fails with an error "Some or all of the settings failed to save. Try again."


Published: 11 Feb 2022
Last Modified Date: 08 Jul 2022

Issue

Enabling the option "Let users schedule and monitor workflows" fails with an error.

Environment

  • Tableau Server 2021.2.7

Resolution

Workaround: In 2021.3.3, Settings can be changed successfully if the user also edits (can keep the same values) in any Site role limit Creators/Explorers/Viewers

Resolution is under investigation.

Cause

Option not listed Summary: 
  1. User is unable to change any site setting after userQuotaMode is set to site-tiered-capacity successfully. 
  2. UserQuota value in sites table in db is not the same (Not clear if it is supposed to be) as sent in the payload for updateSiteSettingsForServerAdmin. 
  3. For no repro case(2020.4.11), payload sent in update updateSiteSettingsForServerAdmin  has userquota as null even after site role limit is set as compared to repro case where payload has userquota as total of tier capacities.


Workaround: In 2021.3.3, Settings can be changed successfully if the user also edits (can keep the same values) in any Site role limit Creators/Explorers/Viewers

Repro:
2021.1.0
USer cannot undo userquota mode to server limit if site role limit is once set 
2021.3.3
User can undo userquota mode to server limit and change other settings by editing the current site role limits
2021.3.4
2021.2.5
2021.1.8
Near

No Repro: 
2020.4.11 or earlier
Did this article resolve the issue?