KNOWLEDGE BASE

Removed Active Directory User not Removed from Tableau Group after Active Directory Sync


Published: 13 Apr 2021
Last Modified Date: 16 Apr 2021

Issue

After synchronizing Active Directory group, removed user in Active Directory group is not removed from Tableau group 
Logs do not show any error message.

Environment

  • Tableau Server
  • Active Directory

Resolution

Verify if the user is a member of child group. Remove the user from all child groups in Active Directory. Then perform group synchronization.

Cause

User is a member of child group.
Users in Active Directory child group are displayed in the parent group in Tableau.  
Tableau group shows all direct users and users of child group. The child group's name is not displayed in the member lists of parent group in Tableau, instead child group's users are displayed.

Additional Information

Synchronize in the logs may show more members are synched compared to the result in the parent group. This can be due to duplicated users in both parent and child groups. 
Did this article resolve the issue?