Last Modified Date: 31 Aug 2016
- Tableau Server
- Tableau Online
- Connect to the extract from Tableau Desktop
- Remove the data extract by right clicking the data connection in the left pane and selecting 'Extract' > 'Remove'
- Edit the data connection to use the new schema by right clicking the data connection in the left pane and selecting 'Edit Connection'
- Recreate the Tableau data extract by right clicking the data connection in the left pane and selecting 'Extract Data'
- When the extract is complete, republish the data connection to Tableau Server, overwriting the original data connection.
CauseThe behavior is by design since the Tableau Data Extract contains information about the data schema at the time of its creation.
Thank you for providing your feedback on the effectiveness of the article.
Open new Case
Training and Tutorials