Unable to Show Map by County for Northern Ireland Counties

Published: 28 Sep 2016
Last Modified Date: 27 Sep 2017


When building a map on Tableau Desktop 10 to see the Northern Ireland Counties, nothing shows up on the view. When going to Map > Edit Locations, no County value matches the Country Selected (UK).


  • Tableau Desktop 10.0


1. Update the dataset to contain the new County names of Northern Ireland.
2. Make sure the Geographical role of the County field is County and not State/Province


Tableau Desktop 10 came with the new version of the Northern Ireland counties. The current pattern of 11 local government districts was established on 1 April 2015.

Additional Information

Northern Ireland consists of six historic counties: County Antrim, County Armagh, County Down, County Fermanagh, County Londonderry, County Tyrone.

These counties are no longer used for local government purposes; instead there are eleven districts of Northern Ireland which have different geographical extents. These were created in 2015, replacing the twenty-six districts which previously existed.

Did this article resolve the issue?