KNOWLEDGE BASE

Dashboard is Blank or Missing Content After Publishing to Tableau Server or Tableau Online


Published: 30 Jul 2013
Last Modified Date: 01 Jun 2020

Issue

After publishing workbook to Tableau Server or Tableau Online, the dashboard or view appears blank, or different than the view appeared when viewed in Tableau Desktop.

Environment

  • Tableau Server
  • Tableau Online

Resolution

Option 1

Rename and refresh the data source, then save and republish the workbook.
  1. Select the data source from the Data menu and select Rename.
  2. In the Rename Connection dialog box, type a new name, and click OK.
  3. Refresh the data source. 
  4. Save the changes of the workbook. 
  5. Then, select Server > Publish Workbook to republish the workbook to Tableau Server.
Alternatively, you can publish the data source as a live connection to Tableau Server. Then, whenever the underlying data changes, republish the data source. This action will force all workbooks that use the data source to pick up the new data , which will have the new metadata.

Option 2

  1. Open the workbook in Tableau Desktop.
  2. Verify if there are alternate layouts (Tablet, Phone, or Desktop) in addition to your Default layout.
  3. Click through all the layouts to find if there is a layout that differentiates from the default layout.
  4. Either remove or update the layout (either Tablet, Phone, or Desktop) that is different from the default view, so that it matches the default view.
  5. Re-publish the workbook over the affected workbook in order to update it and correct the issue.
CLICK TO EXPAND AN EXAMPLE

As described in the below picture, the "Desktop" layout is different than the "Default" layout, and contains no content. Therefore, when it is published to Tableau Server or Tableau Online, and viewed on a Desktop machine, the view will appear blank. The Tableau Desktop view with content accidentally removed or different:

Default Layout

After clicking the Default view option, you will see the default view or dashboard in Tableau Desktop normally:

Default Layout

After the workbook is published to Tableau Server or Online, the Desktop view is the view that Tableau Serve or Tableau Online defaults to, and appears blank as a result. If the content is different in that view, it appears different or is missing content such as filters or data in Tableau Server or Tableau Online depending on which device is used to view it.

Cause

(Option 1) This issue occurs when:
  • A new field is added to the underlying data source, and then used in a view inside a dashboard.
  • A field that is used in a view inside the dashboard is deleted or renamed in the underlying data source.
Tableau Server will not automatically detect data type changes. The data connection definition and metadata is tied to the data connection name. 

(Option 2) Alternate layouts can be added by mistake, or vary from the "Default" layout in Tableau Desktop. If this is the case, and you view the published workbook on that device specific to that layout, the workbook will appear different from the way it looked in Tableau Desktop when viewed in Tableau Server or Tableau Online. This only occurs if the actual content is different in that layout when compared to the default views layout of content (For example, blank or missing some views).
 

Additional Information

The Refresh command in Tableau Desktop will refresh the connection. This is because Tableau Desktop can only have one user; refreshing the connection only affects that single user. If the Tableau Server Refresh command worked in the same way, the connection would cause a query cache miss for Tableau Server users in the same process. For this reason, the Refresh command on Tableau Server runs only new queries, rather than refreshing the connection.


Discuss this article... Feedback Forum
Did this article resolve the issue?