Adding And Removing Users From Groups In Tableau Server Does Not Update Subscriptions
Published: 09 Apr 2021 Last Modified Date: 12 Apr 2021
When users are subscribed to a view as a group, adding or removing users to that group does not update subscriptions to match.
For example: If a user is removed from a group, they will continue to receive subscriptions to any views they were subscribed to as a part of that group.
Tableau Server version 2019.2 and above
Workaround is to update permissions to deny users access to workbooks altogether and allow access based on group membership. A user who is removed from groups that allowed access will no longer continue to receive subscription emails with rendered views, although they will receive subscription emails until the subscription is manually deleted. Those subscription emails will contain a message stating the view could not be rendered and an links to the view will lead them to a blank Tableau Server page.