Mark Labels Disappear After Saving or Publishing Workbook
Published: 20 Jun 2016 Last Modified Date: 18 Oct 2019
When Mark Labels are turned on by right clicking on marks and choosing "Mark Labels > Always Show", after saving or publishing the labels only show for the marks that were in the view when the view was saved or published. If a mark is not in the view at the time the workbook is saved or published, the labels disappear.
For example, if a mark is set to "Always Show" and then filtered out of the view or removed from the view by changing a parameter switch (a parameter which controls what data is in the view), while continuing to edit the workbook in Tableau Desktop the label will be seen when returning the mark to the view. After saving and closing the workbook, or publishing, when the view is opened if the mark is returned to the view the label is no longer visible.
Tableau Server 9.1-9.3, 10.4
Tableau Desktop 9.1-9.3, 10.4
Instead of setting mark labels to "Always Show" on individual marks, use the Label shelf to "Show Mark Labels" so that the labels are persistent regardless of filtering or parameter switches.
When saving a workbook that has marks set to "Mark Labels > Always Show", the workbook only saves the setting for marks visible in the view at the time of saving (or publishing) the workbook. The setting for marks that are no longer visible in the view is not saved because there is no way of knowing if the mark is no longer in the view because the data has changed or if the view has been filtered. If the marks are non-visible because they correspond to data that no longer exists, this can cause the file size to become unnecessarily large as the setting can never be turned off.
When the Label shelf is set to show mark labels, that setting applies to all marks in the view regardless of filtering or parameter switches. Therefore, the setting persists for filtered views or views controlled via parameter switch.