KNOWLEDGE BASE

After Switching The Tableau Bridge From Server Mode To Application Mode, The Tableau Bridge Worker Service Still Exists In Windows Services List


Published: 17 Apr 2020
Last Modified Date: 20 Apr 2020

Issue

Once a domain user has been running Tableau Bridge in Service mode, after setting to Application mode, the "Tableau Bridge worker(XXXXX@XXX)" service will still exist in Windows "Services" list.
Also, the domain user may get User Account Control (UAC) prompt when sign-in on Windows.

Environment

  • Tableau Bridge
  • Tableau Online
  • Windows

Resolution

Option 1
Try the following steps to delete the unnecessary service from the registry on the machine.
1. On the Start screen, type, Services
2. Right-click the Tableau Bridge worker(XXXXX@XXX) for the user > Select Properties
3. Copy the service name
4. Open a windows command prompt as administrator
5. Type the sc delete "<service name>" command > paste the service name > press Enter.   
    for example:
    User-added image

Option 2
Uninstall and reinstall Tableau Bridge as a local administrator user.
 

Cause

Setting from Service mode to Application mode will change the Startup type of the "Tableau Bridge worker(XXXXX@XXX)" service to Manual instead of removing it.

Additional Information

Please note that a "local administrator" means a user account who exists only on the local computer and who's account type is "Administrator".
(A local administrator is not the same as a domain account who is a member of the Domain Admins member of the Administrators group on the computer)
Did this article resolve the issue?