KNOWLEDGE BASE

Tableau Bridge Frequently Asked Questions


Published: 12 Jan 2017
Last Modified Date: 09 Aug 2018

Question

Frequently asked questions about the Tableau Bridge. Also applicable to what was formerly known as Online Sync Client.

Environment

  • Tableau Online
  • Tableau Bridge (formerly Sync Client)

Answer

What is new in Tableau Bridge 2018.2

  1. With the Tableau Bridge 2018.2 release, it is now possible to install Tableau Bridge separately from Tableau Desktop as a stand-alone client.
  2. Tableau Bridge 2018.2 does not use auto-restart intervals to restart itself automatically when the client is running in Application mode. 

Note: If you upgrade from Tableau Bridge 2018.1 and earlier to Tableau Bridge 2018.2, the auto-restart interval that remains in the configuration file will be ignored.


Tableau Bridge 2018.1 and earlier Restarts:

By design, Tableau Bridge 2018.1 and earlier will automatically restart every 24 hours if the client is running in Application mode.

Why does Tableau Bridge 2018.1 and earlier process need to be restarted?

Tableau Bridge 2018.1 and earlier restarts periodically to ensure that all memory allocated to it is freed up. This automatic restart helps prevent memory leaks on the computer running the sync client. 

What does Tableau Bridge 2018.1 and earlier do when it restarts? 

The current process is ended and a new process is launched.

When Tableau Bridge 2018.1 and earlier restarts, can it cause any refreshes to be unsuccessful?

If Tableau Bridge 2018.1 and earlier restarts while a data source is refreshing, the refresh will be unsuccessful. 

What time does Tableau Bridge 2018.1 and earlier automatically restart?

Tableau Bridge 2018.1 and earlier automatically restarts every 24 hours at approximately the time it was launched. For example, if the sync client was started at 3 PM, it will restart around 3 PM.

How do you prevent refreshes from being canceled due to Tableau Bridge 2018.1 and earlier restarts?

Since Tableau Bridge 2018.1 and earlier restarts every 24 hours around the time it was launched, we recommend starting the sync client at a time when no refreshes are scheduled to occur.

Is it possible to turn off Tableau Online Sync Client automatic restarts?

It is not possible to disable Tableau Bridge 2018.1 and earlier process restarts. The interval for restarting the sync client can be changed in the sync client configuration file by changing “dataSyncRestartInterval”.
Note: Changing the dataSyncRestartInterval setting is not recommended unless requested by Tableau Technical Support.

Tableau Online Sync Client Refresh Limits:

Will Tableau Bridge stop refreshing a data source, if the refresh is continually unsuccessful?

No, Tableau Bridge will continue attempting to refresh the data source regardless of the number of unsuccessful refreshes in the past.

How are refreshes prioritized if they are scheduled to run at the same time? Can this order be changed?

If there are Full or Incremental refresh schedules triggered simultaneously, the Tableau Bridge will perform full refreshes first, then incremental refreshes. Apart from Full versus Incremental refreshes, the data sources will refresh in a random order. There is no way to set a refresh order for refreshes that are scheduled to refresh at the same time.

It is a few minutes past the time I set for my data source up to refresh, why hasn't the refresh started yet?

The refresh should start within about 4 minutes of the scheduled refresh time, unless another refresh is currently being performed. The Tableau Bridge can only refresh one data source at a time.

I have two Tableau Online sites, can I refresh data sources from both sites in the same Tableau Bridge instance?

No, Tableau Bridge can only refresh data sources from one site at a time. To refresh data sources from two different sites, install Tableau Bridge on two different computers and have each Bridge instance run refreshes for each of the sites.

Tableau Online Sync Client Computer Name and Location:

We have Tableau Bridge installed on a dedicated computer/vm and only one person can see the computer name from their Tableau Online account, why is this?

The Tableau Online account which was used when logging into the sync client will be the only account able to see the computer name and able to add refreshes to that sync client instance. Tableau Bridge was designed for use by only one user. If multiple users need to be able to add refreshes to the sync client, the best practice is to choose one person to administrate all the refreshes in the sync client, for example, all publishers can publish their data sources, then ask the administrator to add their data sources and passwords to the sync client for refresh.

If we have multiple people who keep an eye on Tableau Bridge, what account on our local computer should we use to launch and run Tableau Bridge?

Best practice is to have only one account that everyone uses to log into the computer. This will prevent multiple Tableau Bridge instances from being opened on the same computer simultaneously. 

Can Tableau Bridge use a My Tableau Repository in a separate drive from the one where Tableau Desktop is installed?​

Tableau Bridge is designed to use a repository on the local drive where Tableau Desktop is installed. If the repository is moved to a location on a secondary or networked drive, refreshes may fail. 

A '_1' has been appended to the computer name, and some of my data sources are missing from Tableau Bridge. What happened?

Either multiple users opened Tableau Bridge on the same computer using different accounts, or multiple users logged into Tableau Desktop on the computer running Tableau Bridge.

Note: The below steps will clear all saved logins for Tableau Bridge and Tableau Desktop, and remove all data sources from Tableau Bridge. After the steps have been completed, users will be prompted to reenter their credentials when opening Tableau Desktop and Tableau Bridge the first time, and all data sources will need to be re-added to Tableau Bridge.

To resolve this issue

  1. Unlink Tableau Bridge:

    1. Locate Tableau Bridge in the system tray, or open it through Tableau Desktop.
    2. If Tableau Bridge is in Run continuously mode, change Bridge to Run only when logged on mode.
    3. Right click the Tableau Bridge icon in the system tray.
    4. Choose Unlink.
    5. Right click the Tableau Bridge icon in the system tray again.
    6. Choose Exit to completely close Tableau Bridge.
  2. Clear connected clients on Tableau Online:

    1. Log into Tableau Online through a web browser.
    2. Click on your username in the top right hand corner and choose My Account Settings.  
    3. Scroll down to Connected Clients.
    4. Delete all connections for that computer name.
  3. Clear Tableau Desktop logins:

    1. Open Tableau Desktop.
    2. Navigate to Help > Settings and Performance.
    3. Click Clear Saved Sign ins, then click OK.

      The above steps clear all connections, usernames, and passwords in Tableau Bridge and Tableau Desktop.

  4. Open Tableau Desktop and launch Tableau Bridge and add the data sources back into Bridge

    1. Log into Tableau Online via a web browser. 
    2. Click Data Sources
    3. Click the name of a data source to be refreshed using Tableau Bridge
    4. Click Refresh Schedules.
    5. Change Refresh this extract on from Tableau Online to the name of the computer running Tableau Bridge. 
    6. Repeat the above steps for all data sources you would like to refresh in Tableau Bridge. 

Multiple Tableau Bridge clients

Can I have multiple Tableau Bridge clients open in different accounts on the same computer?

Running multiple Tableau Bridge instances on the same computer is not recommended, and can have serious detrimental effects on refresh behavior.

Did this article resolve the issue?