KNOWLEDGE BASE

Removing the Share Link


Published: 13 Dec 2013
Last Modified Date: 31 Dec 2019

Question

How to remove the Share link from Tableau Server.

Environment

Tableau Server

Answer

To remove the Share button from all views

Note: This is a setting change and will require a Tableau Server restart to complete

(If Tableau Server version is 10.5 or greater on Linux or 2018.2 or greater on Windows)
  1. Open command window and enter the command
    "tsm configuration get -k vizqlserver.showshare".
  2. If the value returned from the previous command is "true", enter the command
    "tsm configuration set -k vizqlserver.showshare -v false"
  3. Enter the command "tsm pending-changes apply". 
  4. You will see a message warning you that this operation will perform a server restart. Enter "y" and Tableau Server will restart.
  5. Once the restart has completed you can confirm that your setting change was applied by running the command
           "tsm configuration get -k vizqlserver.showshare" which should now return "false".
  6. Please access Tableau Server to confirm that the Share button is now not appearing for you.
(If Tableau Server version is 2018.1 or lower on Windows)
  1. Open the Command Prompt window as an administrator and run the following commands in order:
  2. Enter the command   cd "C:\Program Files\Tableau\Tableau Server\[version]\bin"
  3. Enter the command  “tabadmin stop
  4. Enter the command   “tabadmin set vizqlserver.showshare false
  5. Enter the command   “tabadmin config
  6. Enter the command    “tabadmin start
  7. Please access Tableau Server to confirm that the Share button is now not appearing for you.
 

To remove the Share button from a specific embedded view

This could be used in scenarios where by default you have the Share button enabled but want to prevent sharing of a specific embedded view
Use the following parameter: <param name='showShareOptions' value='false' />
 

To remove the Share button from a non embedded view

This could be used in scenarios where by default you have the Share button enabled but want to prevent sharing of a specific embedded view
Add the following parameter to your url: "&:showShareOptions=false"


Note that the setting at the parameter level will override what the setting is at the configuration level (For example Sharing of Workbooks is set to false at the system level on your Tableau Server, if your parameter is set to true at the level of the workbook the share button will be enabled on the workbook)


 

Additional Information

The showShareOptions parameter will override the default Tableau Server setting (as defined with the vizqlserver.showshare setting).

For example, if vizqlserver.showshare is set to false, but the showShareOptions parameter is set to true, the shareOptions will still appear.


Discuss this article... Feedback Forum
Did this article resolve the issue?