How to Set the Default Locale in Tableau Desktop

Published: 20 Nov 2018
Last Modified Date: 20 Jan 2019


How to set the default locale of when creating workbooks in Tableau Desktop.


  • Tableau Desktop
  • Windows
  • Mac


Tableau checks the following, in order, to determine the workbook locale:

  1. Workbook Locale (explicit setting)
  2. Windows system locale and location, or Mac region
  3. Tableau Language

If none of the above is set, then the workbook locale defaults to English (United States).

Therefore to set the default locale when creating new workbooks:

In Windows

  1. Select Start Control Panel Clock, Language and Region
  2. Select Region, the Region and Language options dialog appears:
    • Windows 10 & Windows 8: Click Region 
    • Windows 7: Click Region and Language
  3. Click the Administrative tab, and under the Language for non-Unicode programs section, click Change system locale and select the desired system locale.
  4. Click the Location tab, and select the desired current location.
  5. Click OK and restart the computer to apply the change.

In Mac

  1. Open System Preferences.
  2. Click Language & Region.
  3. Click Region near the upper right corner of the window to change it.

Additional Information

Locale refers to regional preferences for display properties such as:
  • Date formatting
  • Currency symbols
  • Numeric formatting (decimal separators, grouping separators, etc.)
  • Map information

Discuss this article... Feedback Forum
Did this article resolve the issue?