Last Modified Date: 24 Aug 2022
- Tableau Desktop
- Tableau Prep Builder
AnswerYes, it is ok to delete the Logs folder and it won't affect the existing workbooks.
The Log folder can be deleted in the default path: C:\Users\<User Name>\Documents\My Tableau Repository\Logs or C:\Users\<User Name>\Documents\My Tableau Prep Repository\Logs
- Please make sure that Tableau Desktop or Tableau Prep Builder is not running when you delete the folder.
- The new "Logs" folder will be created in the My Tableau Repository folder upon starting the Tableau Desktop or Tableau Prep Builder.
- If you have an issue with the product, then please archive the Logs folder in zip format and send it to Tableau Support.
Additional InformationTableau Desktop/Prep logs are never auto deleted and there is no function to set the retention/expiry dates.
Thank you for providing your feedback on the effectiveness of the article.
Open new Case
Training and Tutorials