KNOWLEDGE BASE

Rolling Back to an Earlier Installation of Tableau Server


Product(s): Tableau Server
Version(s): All
Last Modified Date: 05 Dec 2016

If for any reason you need to roll back to the prior installation of Tableau Server, you must have the installer package for the previous version and a Tableau backup file (.tsbak) from your previous installation. After you confirm that you have these files, follow the steps below to roll back to a previous installation.

Note: Go to the Alternate Download Site to download the installer package for a previous version of Tableau Server. For more information about creating a backup of Tableau Server, see Back Up the Tableau Data in Server Help.

Step 1 

Uninstall the existing server using Programs and Features option in the Control Panel.

Step 2 

Manually delete the Tableau Server folder for the version you are removing. For example, C:\Program Files\Tableau\Tableau Server\<version>.

Note: If you installed 32-bit Tableau Server on a 64-bit operating system, the path will be C:\Program Files (x86)\Tableau\Tableau Server\<version>.

Step 3 

Manually delete the Tableau Server data folder. If you installed Tableau Server to the default location, delete C:\ProgramData\Tableau\Tableau Server\. If you installed Tableau Server to a non-default location, delete the \data folder in the location where you installed Tableau Server (for example, d:\Tableau\Tableau Server\data).

Note: The \ProgramData folder is hidden by default. You may need to configure Windows to show hidden folders.

Step 4 

Run the installer for the previous version you have and follow the on-screen instructions. During the installation, the automated backup file will not be found. If you are prompted to start a trial or enter a product key, please send an email to Customer Service.

Step 5 

When the Tableau Server Configuration dialog box opens, accept the default values. Do not specify a Run As user. These settings will be corrected when you restore from your backup file.

Step 6 

When prompted, complete the registration by providing your name, e-mail address, and address.

Step 7 

After the installation completes, restore from the backup (.tsbak) file for the previous version. For more information, see Restore from a Backup topic in Tableau Server Help.

 

Alternate Search Terms:upgrade, migrate, install, backup, back-up, backing up, roll back, roll-back, downgrade
Did this article resolve the issue?