KNOWLEDGE BASE

Unable to Retain User Site Role Changes from a Higher to a Lower Access


Published: 09 Mar 2017
Last Modified Date: 10 Mar 2017

Issue

After changing a user's site role from a role with higher access to a role with lower access (such as from Interactor to Viewer) in Tableau Server, the site role may automatically revert to the higher level the next day.
 

Environment

  • Tableau Server
  • Active Directory group syncing

Resolution

Change the minimum site role (for the group the user is a member of) to the site role of lower access.

Cause

When configuring Tableau Server for automatic Active Directory sync, it is possible to set a minimum site role for each group. The result is that when you synchronize Active Directory groups, new users are added to the site with the minimum site role. If a user already exists, the minimum site role is applied if it gives the user more access in a site. Any user whose site role is manually lowered below the minimum site role will be automatically restored to the minimum site role during the next Active Directory sync.
Did this article resolve the issue?