KNOWLEDGE BASE

Tableau Bridge Linked to Inactive Site


Published: 12 Aug 2016
Last Modified Date: 25 Sep 2017

Issue

When signing into Tableau Bridge, you are linked to an inactive site instead of the current, active site.

Environment

  • Tableau Online
  • Tableau Bridge

Resolution

  1. On the system tray, right-click Tableau Bridge and choose Unlink. When prompted, click OK.
  2. On the system tray, right-click Tableau Bridge and choose Exit.
  3. Open Windows Task Manager and look for any processes with "Tableau Online" in the name. End any that you find.
  4. Open Tableau Desktop and restart Tableau Bridge by navigating to Server > Start Tableau Bridge. Enter your Tableau Online credentials and, when prompted, choose the correct site.

Cause

Tableau Bridge can refresh data sources for one site only. When you're given access to a new site, Tableau Bridge will continue to use the old site until you relink Tableau Bridge and choose a new site.
Did this article resolve the issue?