KNOWLEDGE BASE

Save Option Grayed out in Web Edit


Published: 09 Sep 2017
Last Modified Date: 12 Oct 2017

Issue

If you are the site administrator and you use the web edit function to alter a published workbook, you are unable to save the changes (the "Save" option is greyed-out) even though the save permissions have been granted. 

Environment

  • Tableau Online
  • Tableau Server 

Resolution

If you are not the Content owner, you will not be able to save your edits; this is an expected behavior. To save the modifications, please follow one of the below workarounds: 

Option 1

Choose to "Save As" and save the workbook with the same title as the original. Please note that this will overwrite the original workbook, content will be altered, and changes saved. 

Option 2

As Site Administrator, you also can change the ownership of a workbook. More information and instructions how to do this can be found in the following documentation: Manage Ownership.

Cause

You are not the content owner. For more information about roles, see Site Role Access in Tableau Help. 
Did this article resolve the issue?