KNOWLEDGE BASE

Managing Users After Restoring Backup from a Different Domain


Published: 02 May 2013
Last Modified Date: 13 Oct 2015

Issue

When restoring Tableau Server from a backup taken in a different Active Directory domain (e.g. when migrating to a new Active Directory domain or when using a backup from a development environment in a production environment), the backup restores the users from the original Active Directory domain, including the Tableau Server administrator user account.

Environment

  • Tableau Server
  • Active Directory Authentication

Resolution

  1. Run tabadmin reset to reset the Tableau Server administrator user.
  2. Use the newly-created administrator user to delete users from the old domain, and then add users from the new domain.
Did this article resolve the issue?