KNOWLEDGE BASE

Error "Please shut down the server before saving changes" Saving Configuration Changes


Published: 19 Sep 2013
Last Modified Date: 20 May 2016

Issue

After making changes in the Tableau Server Configuration dialog box, when you click OK to save the changes, the following error might occur:

Please shut down the server before saving changes.

Environment

Tableau Server

Resolution

  1. Before you open the Tableau Server Configuration dialog box, stop Tableau Server. For more information, see tabadmin stop in Tableau Help.
  2. Make the changes in the Tableau Server Configuration dialog box, and then click OK.

Cause

To save configuration changes, Tableau Server must be stopped.
Did this article resolve the issue?