KNOWLEDGE BASE

Error "Cannot remove user because they still own content" When Attempting to Delete a Tableau Server User


Published: 11 Feb 2016
Last Modified Date: 13 Jan 2017

Issue

When attempting to delete a user in Tableau Server, the following error message might occur even though it appears that the user does not own any workbooks, views, data sources etc:
User <username> could not be deleted because they own content. <username> has been unlicensed.

Environment

  • Tableau Server 
  • Tableau Online

Resolution

Locate any projects owned by the user being removed and reassign ownership to a different user prior to removing the user. Project ownership can be viewed and changed through the following steps:
  1. Log into Tableau Server or Tableau Online as a server or site administrator.
  2. Go to Content > Projects.
  3. Enter the user's name in the Owner drop-down under the General Filters section.
    • The list of projects will filter to show only projects owned by that user.
  4. Select the context menu for each project and choose Change Owner.
  5. Choose the desired user to be the new owner and click Change Owner.

Cause

A user cannot be removed if any content is owned, including projects. Projects do not appear in the list of owned content for users, but can be owned by Site or Server administrators.
Did this article resolve the issue?