KNOWLEDGE BASE

Showing All Values After Selecting Keep Only or Exclude Options


Published: 06 Sep 2016
Last Modified Date: 16 Jun 2017

Question

How to reset the visualization after selecting the "Keep Only" or "Exclude" options in a Dashboard, on a view, or in a published story to show all values again.

Environment

  • Tableau Desktop
  • Tableau Server
  • Tableau Online
  • Tableau Public

Answer

Tableau Desktop

Both the below options work with views, dashboards and stories: 
  • Remove the newly created filter from the Filters shelf
  • Click on the Undo button. 
To view these steps in action, see the video below: 

 

Tableau Server and Tableau Online

While analysing data, click one of the following options available at the top left of the view, the dashboard, or the story: Undo and Revert.
  • Undo: Selecting this option will go backwards one step at a time.
  • Revert: This option removes all changes done in the analysis. It resets the view, the dashboard or the story to its original state. 
  • Revert icon: The revert icon is only available for stories. The icon is located at the top of the story point. 
To view these steps in action, see the video below: 

Tableau Public

To revert a change made to a view, a dashboard or a story in Tableau Public, please use one of the the following options:  
  • Undo: Selecting this option will go backwards one step at a time.
  • Reset: This option removes all changes done in the analysis. It resets the view, the dashboard or the story to its original state.
  • Revert icon: The revert icon is only available for stories. The icon is located at the top of the story point. 
Note: In Tableau Public, the "Undo, Redo and Revert" features must be enabled by the Publisher. It is enabled by default. If such options have been disabled, enable them by going to Edit Details > Toolbar Settings > tick the Show view controls Undo, Redo, Revert option. 

To view these steps in action, see the video below: 

Did this article resolve the issue?