KNOWLEDGE BASE

Rolling Back to an Earlier Installation of Tableau Server


Published: 08 Mar 2017
Last Modified Date: 27 Oct 2017

Question

How to roll back to an earlier installed version of Tableau Server. 

Environment

Tableau Server

Answer

Before you start

You'll need the installer package for the version of Tableau Server you want to return to and a Tableau backup file (.tsbak) from your previous installation. 

Rolling Back the Installation

  1. Uninstall Tableau Server using the Programs and Features option in the Control Panel. 
  2. Manually delete the Tableau Server folder in Program Files. For example, 
    C:\Program Files\Tableau\Tableau Server
  3. Manually delete the Tableau Server data folder.
    • If you installed Tableau Server to the default location, delete C:\ProgramData\Tableau\Tableau Server\.
    • If you installed Tableau Server to a non-default location, delete the \data folder in the location where you installed Tableau Server (for example, D:\Tableau\Tableau Server\data).
    Note: The \ProgramData folder is hidden by default. You may need to configure Windows to show hidden folders. 
  4. Run the installer you downloaded in Before you start and follow the on-screen instructions. 
  5. When the Tableau Server Configuration dialog box opens, accept the default values. do not specify a Run As user. These settings will be set when you restore your backup file. 
  6. When prompted, complete registration. 
  7. After the installation completes, restore from the backup (.tsbak) file for the previous version. For more information, see Restore from a Backup.
Did this article resolve the issue?