KNOWLEDGE BASE

Removing Permissions from User “Tableau Software”


Published: 01 Feb 2013
Last Modified Date: 01 May 2017

Question

Does removing the Interactor permissions from the default user Tableau Software affect the server?

Environment

Tableau Server 8.0

Answer

You can safely unlicense the default Tableau Software user to free up a license for a user in your organization.

  1. Sign in to Tableau Server as an administrator, and navigate to Admin > All Users.
  2. Select the box next to the Tableau Software user, and then click Delete.
  3. In the dialog box that appears, click Yes.

Additional Information

The Tableau Software default user on Tableau Server is the account under which sample workbooks are published. You can unlicense this user without issue, and without deleting the sample workbooks.

Did this article resolve the issue?